About the Merrimack County Conservation District

The Merrimack County Conservation District was created in 1946. It is a political subdivision of the State of New Hampshire, RSA 432:12, with a 170 C 1 non-profit status under the IRS tax code. As a subdivision of the State of New Hampshire, conservation districts are a partnership of federal, state and local agencies interested in the wise use of natural resources.

     Merrimack County Conservation District is co-located with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, providing technical assistance to County landowners. Merrimack County Conservation District elects a Board of Supervisors annually and Associate Supervisors are appointed by the Board.  The District Supervisors and Associate Supervisors bring local contacts to the conservation process, representing local needs, and bringing technical expertise from the community to the District. Merrimack County Conservation District is fortunate to have the support of the Merrimack County Commissioners and County Delegates who generously provide funding for the District Manager.

     In 1929, as a result of devastating soil erosion, US Congress appropriated $160,000 for soil erosion control experiments. From that early research, the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS, formerly Soil Conservation Service) was formed. County conservation districts were established by NH RSA 432 to set local priorities, deliver information and assistance to land owners and users. Merrimack County Conservation District was formed January 24, 1946. County conservation districts work in partnership with NRCS to provide technical assistance for federally funded programs. MCCD meets with other related agencies and members of the public several times each year to form a Local Work Group, which determines local natural resource needs and concerns, and carries those concerns forward to the State Technical Committee.


Created in Response to the Dustbowl


     During the Dustbowl Era of the 1930's, President Franklin D. Roosevelt saw a need for soil conservation. He pushed Congress to develop a new agency called the Soil Stabilization Service. This agency became the Soil Conservation Service and, more recently, the Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS). To increase the functionality of this new agency, Roosevelt decided local input should be a part of this mix. Out of this, he devised the idea for locally led soil conservation boards. Of course, these boards are now our conservation district boards of supervisors.


     Roosevelt went so far as to develop draft legislation (Standard States District Act) for each state so there would be continuity between states and so they would all have the same basic purpose. Roosevelt and Congress informed the states they would not be eligible to receive assistance from the federal Soil Conservation Service unless they had laws that allowed the creation of these boards and local communities were actively forming the boards.


     In this way the federal government was able to get local input on which programs would be most locally acceptable. These new boards also facilitated two-way communication between local private landowners and the federal government. The boards were able to identify local soil conservation priorities, and in return informed the local public about new practices that could not only save soil, but could often mean more profitable farming.




Below are links to more information about conservation districts and their history.




Not in Merrimack County?  Here's a list of other NH conservation districts on the web.


Belknap County Conservation District

Cheshire County Conservation District

Grafton County Conservation District

Hillsborough County Conservation District

Strafford County Conservation District

Sullivan County Conservation District


Board of Supervisors

Peter Blakeman, PE, Chair


Gerald Courser, Vice Chair


Robert Bradbury, Supervisor


Audra Klumb, Supervisor


Jeff Moore, Supervisor



Associate Supervisors

Scott Bartlett


Brenda Digilio


Robert Drown, Jr.


Rob Larocque


James Robertson



District Staff

Stacy Luke

District Manager

Rebecca Yohe

Program Coordinator

Alyssa Lemmermann

Local Foods/ Gleaning Coordinator

© 2016 Merrimack County Conservation District

Merrimack County Conservation District

About Us